MATTHEW GILBERT and his book “OFF THE LEASH: A YEAR AT THE DOG PARK”

“A wonderful , engaging, surprising book”- Ann Beattie

Join Boston Globe columnist Matthew Gilbert on Monday Sept. 8th at 6:30 for the first Author’s Night of the new season. Gilbert will be discussing his first book, the brand-new bestseller “Off The Leash”: A Year at the Dog Park”.

OFF THE LEASH is about the strange, wonderful, neurotic, and eccentric dog people who gather daily at Amory Park, overlooking Boston. And it’s about Matthew Gilbert’s transformation from dedicated homebody to joyful member of the dog park club: an oddball group of dog people with fur on their jackets and biscuits in their pockets.

A charmingly written narrative that will appeal to anyone who has ever enjoyed watching a puppy scamper through a park, OFF THE LEASH is a paean to dog lovers and their pets everywhere, perfect for fans of Marley and Me and Merle’s Door.

Matthew Gilbert is the TV critic at the Boston Globe. Before that, he covered books and movies for the Globe, as well as celebrity and author interviews. The most fascinating of that last beat: David Foster Wallace. The most exciting: Yeah, Meryl Streep, who was every bit as lovely in person as you might hope.

“An honest, funny and heartwarming tale about the love between a man and his dog. Gilbert’s quirky cast of characters–both human and canine–will be familiar to anyone who’s logged serious hours in the dog park.”

– J. Courtney Sullivan, New York Times bestselling author of Maine and The Engagements

Stellina Author’s Nights are a free event, with no reservations required. Light hors d’oeuvres are served and a cash bar is available. Copies of Mr. Gilbert’s book will be available for purchase courtesy of Haley Booksellers.

Attendees desiring to remain for dinner after the event are advised to make reservations in advance.

matthew_gilbert_dog_photos_collage

BvUtq3kCcAECXbg

Quite pleased Off the Leash is on local bestseller list. Back off, Hillary. @StMartinsPress @MacmillanEvents pic.twitter.com/zvx1VxkPLx

Menu